Growing Up…

"Maybe when I get my license, Marena and I can take road trips to come see you…"

This is what my friend Candace from JBA said. It really got me thinking.

We really aren't far from our licenses, which means we'll be able to drive pretty much anywhere we want…

Which means independence.

But that's the first step in a short series of events leading to being on your own in the world.

I didn't realize until just now how scary that is…

Right now we're kind of stuck between two sides; childhood and adulthood. We aren't really in either place. So its hard to figure out who you are when you can't figure out if you're an adult or a kid.

I was washing the dishes tonight, and all of a sudden, I was thinking, "I have big hands!" I don't know what triggered it, and it was very strange… but the fact is we're growing up.

Sure, this is a good thing in a lot of ways, but then again, it isn't. Once we're older, we've lost a lot of our innocence. We see things in life so disgusting, so harsh and so scarring that its almost scary.

So many times nowadays I think less about the present and more about the past and the future — I dream about what it was like way back when, and I plan what's going to happen.

There's a quote by John Lennon that says;

"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."

And this is true. The things I most miss are things that weren't supposed to happen… just hanging out with friends, just everyday life… and now I realize that this is all over. We're moving on and growing up. We look forward, we plan forward, and we keep going full-fledged forward. And now I realize…

There's no going back.

3 Responses to “Growing Up…”

  1. Candace Says:

    glad to be “Ms. Inspiration” as you called me…
    that was also deep.. i’ve been having the same thoughts lately and have been wondering if it was only me thinking them.. but apparently not… thnx for pointing that out to me buddy..

  2. Kristin Seim Says:

    Very well put. (Oh, and just so you know, I’m an old friend of Neil’s.) It is very hard to be a teen becasue we really are in the middle of being a kid and adult. But as I said, it was very well put. Keep up the good work!

    Kristin

  3. Leah Says:

    Yes, Robby, you are growing up. *sniffle, sniffle.* soon your voice wil start craking and you’ll be embarassed when you talk to people and your voice sqeaks….or does this already happen?….JK, I’m sorry. That was mean. I could just backspace it all, but hey-I’m lazy. Oh tell ur tornado friend Candace hi. (same one right?) See yeah, Stay Gold, Pony Boy!

Leave a Reply

